Trollops

‘Their heels are higher than their skirts are long’ is my favourite phrase to toss about when describing the little party girls in my city. It may sound ludicrous (or, alternatively, it may sound like a perfectly acceptable fashion choice; in which case, I  am just an old nana), but I am not exaggerating – it is the outfit de rigueur on a Saturday night. Truly, I think I coined that phrase my first weekend here and I have repeated it nearly ever week since.

Aside from reminding me of how many kilos I would like to lose (see Striving), this phenomenon reminds me of how far I have come. I too was a party girl (or pseudo-party girl) in my day. I rocked some damn short skirts, and I wore platforms like it was my job. Still do from time to time. And there is nothing wrong with that. (Please disregard the title of this post, it just happens to be one of my favourite words.)

I will be the first to say that you should live it up and take risks (even fashion risks) while you can. But I have recently found myself surprised to also be the first to say how wonderful adulthood is. I love quiet nights at home, or grabbing drinks in a posh wine bar and talking politics. I dream about growing older, having children, imparting values to the next generation. I love the knowledge (dare I say wisdom?) that comes with each passing year.

More and more, I have found younger (and, sometimes, even older) individuals – coworkers, friends, friends of friends – coming to me with questions about life and love. On an almost daily basis, I counsel friends about various issues, such as how to deal with difficult people (usually boyfriends, but sometimes bosses). And just last week, an acquaintance was asking me about marriage; how did I know it was the right man, the right time, the right choice? I don’t fancy myself a ‘Dear Abby‘, and I am slowly figuring it all out for myself, but it is flattering to be asked the questions, and rewarding to think I might be helping someone.

Isn’t that what most of us want? To connect with and help others? I would like to think that will someday be the point of this site – to aid others who are beginning their adventures in far flung corners of the world, as they figure out where they are going and what they are doing. It may be grandiose, but I like to call it aspirational.

P.S. Party Girls – if you’ve got it, you’ve got it. You don’t need the skirt to prove it. (Sorority sisters, remember Recruitment Week Rule Number One: your shorts must touch your fingertips, arms fully extended!) xoxo, Gossip Girl

(Photo Credit: http://www.dreamstime.com)

